Technicians won't install dash cam on my E power Tekna

ICE, Equipment, Options
NicoRitsua
Qashqai Model: Mk.3 Qashqai - J12 (2021+) New Model

Post by NicoRitsua »

Hi,

I've just got a brand new (23 plate) E power Tekna. I wanted to hardwire a Nextbase 622GW dash cam into it. Nextbase had an offer for cheap fitting, and being a new driver with no technical car knowledge or skills with electronics, I thought I'd pay for them to install it, but they said they can't install on EV vehicles. Same response from Halfords, but neither of them could tell me why, but they both referenced E power Qashqais specifically, before I even told them that this is what I was driving.

I wanted to give it a go myself, if they won't do it for me, but I have zero knowledge of electronics and I don't want to start messing with the fuse box etc. when I don't understand what the issue is in the first place, or if what I propose to do is going to cause damage/safety issues. I've looked through other forums re. The Leaf, etc. and they all suggest that it's just the technicians not wanting to learn how to deal with an EV hybrid (and most people are saying not to let them touch your car at all) and that there's no reason at all as to why you can't do it yourself, by following the traditional methods.

I want to give it a try, but I'm apprehensive when I can't find any info. regarding E power Qashqais in particular. If anyone could explain why E power Qashqais might present a problem and advise me if there are any extraordinary steps that I would need to take, beyond what I've seen on YouTube for installing a cam in a standard/EV vehicle, I'd appreciate it.
2023 Tekna E-Power

SEK

Post by SEK »

NicoRitsua wrote: Sun Oct 01, 2023 10:20 am Hi,